The South Korean film "Parasite" was recently named Film of Year by GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics. (COURTESY OF NEON)

HOLLYWOOD —  GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics, comprised of 260 mainly U.S. journalists covering film and television, including The Conway Daily Sun's Alec Kerr, has named its final-round choices for its 10th annual Dorian Awards, honoring 2019’s finest movies, performances and more across a host of mainstream and LGBTQ-focused categories.

South Korean director Bong Joon-ho’s "Parasite" gobbled up five wins, including Film of the Year, Director and Screenplay and Supporting Actor. Renée Zellweger took Performance of the Year — Actress for "Judy," with Antonio Banderas the top choice in the Actor race for "Pain and Glory." The society’s Rising Star of the Year was Florence Pugh ("Little Women" and "Fighting With My Family").

"GALECA members strive to determine the best cinematic experiences through the distinct LGBTQ lens, and this year was particularly rich in options,” said GALECA President Diane Anderson-Minshall, editorial director of The Advocate. “Yet when director Bong Joon-ho’s 'Parasite' practically swept our awards roster with five wins, I was not surprised. The dynamic, darkly comic drama about a poor family conniving to live the good life speaks to the times we live in, with vivid commentary on class, inequity and even climate change. Parasite is a perfect film for the Trump era.”

Among the professional LGBTQ journalists group’s trademark categories, "Booksmart" scored as Unsung Film of the Year, while "Cats" took the group’s semi-dubious, if affectionate, Campy Flick of the Year category.

FX's "Pose" again won TV Drama of the Year and LGBTQ TV Drama for the second year, and its star Billy Porter took another Dorian win as well. Comedy Central’s "The Other Two" was named best Unsung TV Show. Amazon’s "Fleabag" was anointed TV Comedy of the Year, with star-creator Phoebe Waller-Bridge reigning as TV Performance of the Year—Actress and Wilde Wit of the Year.

Lady Gaga wowed GALECA’s members in a special vote as Wilde Artist of the Decade. Gaga’s duet with Bradley Cooper on “Shallow” at last year’s Oscars also counted with the group as the TV Musical Performance of the Year.

Other noteworthy winner include Catherine O’Hara for Timeless Star,

"Scream, Queen! My Nightmare on Elm Street" for LGBTQ Documentary of the Year, "Honeyland" for Documentary of the Year and Jennifer Lopez for Best Supporting Actress for "Hustlers"

Olivia Wilde, the first-time director of Booksmart, will be receiving a special honor at the group’s Dorian Awards Winners Toast, which will be held on Sunday, Feb. 2, in Los Angeles. The invitation-only event will include a raise of the glass to Wilde, named GALECA’s Wilde Artist of the Year.

GALECA, formed in 2009, aims to generate camaraderie and solidarity in an unsettling media environment, champion constructive film and television criticism and elevate the craft of entertainment journalism. Via panels, screenings and the annual Dorian Awards, GALECA also strives to remind at-risk youth, bullies and bigots that the world looks to the Q eye for leads on great, unique movies and TV.

GALECA is a core member of CGEM: Critics Groups for Equality in Media.

For more information, go to

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.