This edition of Steve’s Sports Shorts is very short as we are trying to catch up with end-of-the-spring sports’ awards information along with pictures.  

At the Gorham High School spring sports awards night, the following awards were presented:

 Several Gorham High School softball team members won awards: Halery Desilets was named First Year Standout; Bryanna Poirier, Defensive Player of the Year; Alexis Kruskie won the Coaches Award; Anna Roberge, the Hustle Award and Maddie Rivard, Offensive Player of the Year.

Poirier was also named to the Granite State North All Conference.

Rivard was named to the Second Team and Kruskie received Honorable Mention for Div IV All State Softball.                

Five Gorham High School baseball team members were also recognized: Ean Steady, Coaches Award; Cody Pike, Rookie of the Year; Ben Harmon, Most Valuable Player; Lex Mayerson,  20/20 Club; and Robert Morehouse, Most Improved Player.

For Berlin High School, the following awards were given:

Jessica Vien and Brandon Weeks won Best Athletes.

The Boys Ice Hockey Coach’s Award went to  Sawyer Sanschagrin. The Girls Ice Hockey Award went to Lauren Frenette.

The Buster Mayo Hockey Scholarships went to Trent Labrecque and Lauren Frenette.

The Derek Hodgeman Hockey Scholarship went to Sawyer Sanschagrin and  Lauren Frenette.

The Track & Field Awards went to Jenah Arsenault for the girls and Samuel Stiles for the boys.

The Christopher Hartman Soccer Award went to Nathan Fecteau.

The Daniel Brigham Baseball Coach’s Award went to Brandon Weeks.

The David “Max” Agronia Basketball Award went to Seth Balderrama.

The Girls Soccer Coach’s Award went to Allison Theriault.

The Unified Basketball Award went to Jenah Arsenault.

The M. Herbert Costello Softball Award went to Haily Knapp.

The Mark Tilton Attitude Award went to Nathan Fecteau and Haily Knapp.

The Michael Francis Walsh Basketball Award went to Samantha McCann.

The Michael Gaydo Commitment Award went to Samuel Stiles and Samantha McCann.

The Nancy Hood Memorial BYH Schoalrship went to Trent Labreque.

The No Regrets Paul Letarte Scholarship went to Jenah Arsenault.

The Patty Hood Field Hockey Award went to Jessica Vien.

The Richard Wagner Award went to Jenah Arsenault and Brandon Weeks.

The Steve Enman Cross-Country Award went to Samuel Stiles.

A huge ‘thank you’ goes out to the spring coaches and the Athletic Directors Craig Melanson at Berlin High School and Bill Goodrich Gorham High School for providing sports’ information and game summaries throughout the year.  I couldn’t have done it without your help.

Babe Ruth game summaries will be in Thursday’s edition.  

I know Cal Ripken district tournaments are upcoming and Bobcat softball is in full swing.  Schedules and results would be greatly appreciated.

According to the N.H. Sunday News, NHIAA All State softball selections from Gorham and Berlin included the already mentioned Gorham’s Maddie Rivard, second team Division 4, and Alexis Kruskie, honorable mention. In addition, Berlin High School’s Sam McCann was named Division III Pitcher of the Year; Kaylee Peare was named first team and Allison Theriault, honorable mention.  

Congratulations to all of these talented local softball players.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.