CONWAY — Memorial Hospital hosted its annual employee awards banquet at the North Conway Grand Hotel in North Conway to recognize staff for years of service, and to honor staff with accolades from Employee of the Year to a Teamwork Award. The Roaring ’20s-themed event saw over 200 employees and guests turn out to celebrate.

All employees were invited to nominate their peers for the annual excellence awards recognizing those who exemplify Memorial’s values of patient-centered care, excellence, respect, integrity, ownership and innovation, plus other awards for leadership, teamwork, employee engagement and peer recognition.

Among the top awards, Employee of the Year was awarded to Diane Shore, file clerk in materials management and Provider of the Year was awarded to Charisse Hirschfeld, advanced practice registered nurse in the walk-in clinic.

Other awards included:

Leader of the Year, Lori Farrington, supervisor of environmental services.

Team of the Year, Oncology & Infusion Services team.

Patient Centered Champion, Troy Turcotte, security office.

Spirit of Respect, Jesse Burke, computed tomography technologist.

Spirit of Integrity, Devin Copsey, registered nurse.

Spirit of Excellence, April Waggener, pharmacy technician.

Spirit of Ownership, Martha Jackson, registered nurse.

Spirit of Innovation, Jennifer Bartlett, scheduling coordinator.

One Beat Engagement Award, Emily Henley, office assistant in Primary Care.

Human Resources Director Sue Edminster also acknowledged The Medical Staff of Memorial Hospital for their generous donation of flowers and time spent decorating the venue.

For more information about Memorial Hospital and to discover their latest job openings, go

Memorial Hospital also recognized  long-term employees with service awards, where staff receive service pins marking years of service.

Employees were recognized for years of service as follows:

45 years: Joyce Kennett, accounts/payable clerk.

40 years: Anne McBride Kantack, registered nurse.

35 years: Theresa Caldwell, scheduling clerk; Karen Moffat Winkler, registered nurse; and Susan Ruka, director of Population Health.

30 years: Meg Gospodarek, central supply; and Karen Greenlaw, patient advocate.

20 years: Becky Gray, registered nurse; Marta Ramsey, nursing coordinator; William Owen, registered nurse educator; Becky Adams, executive assistant; Dawn James — manager health information management; John Lawler, pharmacist; Diane Shore, file clerk; James Smith, staff accountant; Darren Evans — maintenance; Linda Barton, registered nurse; Cynthia Vachon, lead licensed nursing assistant, Merriman House; Shirley Whitaker, case manager — Merriman House; and Michael Eaton Jr., surgical aide.

15 years: Kendra Griffin, multi-modality technician; Dr. Marni Madnick, Obstetrics & Gynecology; Mary Vigeant, advanced practice registered nurse; Bethany Potter, multi-modality technician; Alana Illsley, medical assistant; Valerie Lozier, advanced practice registered nurse; Deborah Hanson, informatics manager; Dr. Stephen Sanders — physician; Leigh Copsey, registered nurse; Jane Fichera, registered nurse; Marie Walsh, data integrity analyst; Michelle Mattei, clinical supervisor; Kristen West, registered nurse; Marlene Banhart, office assistant; and Glenn White, cook.

10 years: Lucinda Bergeron, registered nurse; Amy Russo, occupational therapist; Deborah Eberhardt, medical assistant; Tracy Kanzler, data analyst; Toby Savage, physician assistant; Sheryl Hurlburt, medical assistant; Kathleen Munroe, clinical supervisor; Cheryl Alander, medical records; Sherill Ciampa, advanced practice registered nurse; Gina McKinney, clinical supervisor; Sheryl Rivers, medical coding; Vicki Arnold, scheduling clerk; Marina Zolotayko, cashier; Debra Moody, housekeeping; Edward Jariz, respiratory technician; Patrick Walsh, maintenance; Leona Cloutier, advanced practice registered nurse in Oncology; Michelle Ramsey, nursing coordinator; Pamela Rabideau, registered nurse; Jerry Hembree, registered nurse; Jennifer Gibson, registered nurse; and Terese Billeaud, activities coordinator.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.