A+ A A-



SCHENECTADY, N.Y. — Christopher Low, of Center Conway, graduated from Union College on Sunday, June 15.

Low, an eonomics major, graduated with 500 students on the College's Hull Plaza as part of its 220th Commencement. Low received a bachelor of arts degree.

The featured speaker was Dr. Deborah L. Birx, a renowned international expert in the field of HIV/AIDS. Appointed earlier this year by President Barack Obama as an ambassador-at-large and U.S. Global AIDS coordinator, she shared with graduates the deadly impact of AIDS in sub-Saharan Africa and other parts of the developing world in the late 1990s.


The following students were awarded degrees from Plymouth State University in Plymouth at their 143rd commencement ceremony May 17: Kaylee Belmer, of Fryeburg, Maine, bachelor of arts in psychology; Charles Dimon, of Conway, master of education in educational leadership; Lindsey English, of Freedom, bachelor of arts in art; Jillian Hartwell, of Madison, bachelor of science in early childhood studies; Rose LaBrecque, of Center Ossipee, bachelor of science in social work; Angela Lynch, of North Conway, bachelor of science in health education; Jason Stefano, of Fryeburg, Maine, bachelor of science in business administration; Chester Trundy, of Conway, bachelor of science in environmental planning.

Hannah Estes, of Ossipee, graduated from Hartwick College in Oneonta, N.Y. on May 24, 2014. She is the daughter of Richard and Patricia Estes.

At Hartwick, Estes participated in Colleges Against Cancer and Hartwick College Nursing Students Without Borders. She majored in nursing.

On Saturday, May 10, Saint Joseph's College in Standish, Maine held its 101st Commencement, from its Standish campus on the shores of Sebago Lake. This year, the College recognized the accomplishments of 564 graduates: 202 from its on-campus programs and 362 from its online programs. Local graduates include Melanie Allen, of Jackson; Heather Tripp, of Lovell, Maine; Julie Ferland, of Glen.







COLCHESTER, Vt. — The following local residents graduated from Saint Michael's College during the 107th commencement exercises held on the college campus May 11, 2014:

Sarah Emily Ames-Foley, daughter of Roy Ames of Tamworth, with a bachelor of arts, magna cum laude in psychology.

Jessica Marie George, daughter of Kristina and Michael George of Madison, with a bachelor of science, magna cum laude in mathematics and secondary education.

Andrew John Macdonald, son of Ellen and John MacDonald of Center Conway, with a bachelor of arts in history.

Madelaine Leigh Plauché, daughter of Marc and Nancy Plauche of Tamworth, with a bachelor of arts, magna cum laude in political science.

The Commencement speaker was internationally known deep-sea explorer and oceans champion Sylvia Earle, who ultimately struck an optimistic note in her message to 2014 graduates about their power to offer hope and take actions that might preserve our planet for future generations.

The National Geographic Explorer-in-Residence and world-renowned oceanographer, explorer, author and lecturer, nicknamed "Her Deepness" by the New Yorker and New York Times, addressed an audience of nearly 4,500 including 438 undergraduates (169 bachelor of science, 269 bachelor of arts), 41 master's students (11 master of arts in clinical psychology, 19 master's in education, one master of science in administration, 10 master of arts in teaching English to speakers of other languages) along with families, friends, faculty and staff. Degree recipients from last August and December also attended, bringing the total number of participating undergraduates to about 480.

Earle noted how appropriate it was on Mother's Day to honor "the mother of all mothers – Mother Earth," or perhaps even "Mother Ocean," since that's where 95 percent of the world's life-giving water is. Earle suggested "we're in a time like never before and never again" for making policies that might, in the true spirit of Saint Michael's, takes others into account -- even if they are the others of the future. Saint Michael the Archangel, she playfully reminded the audience, "was an action figure" representing the victory of good over evil -- a good role model in a life-or-death struggle like the survival of the planet that is our only small shared home in such a vast universe.

"What are the reasons for hope? There is no greater reason for hope than this Class of 2014," she concluded to cheers.

As of July 1, 2014, Krista Taylor has retired as supervisor of the Federal Aviation Administration Flight Service Department in San Diego, Calif.
Taylor is the daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Charles Taylor of Kearsarge and a graduate of Kennett High School.
After graduating from Swarthmore College she trained at Mike Monroney Aeronautical Center in Oklahoma City and began her career in Palmdale, California.
 She held several managerial positions in San Diego over her 32 years of service and now has time to enjoy being in the air and let others guard the planes. Her family and friends congratulate her and are proud of her achievements.


POTSDAM, N.Y. — The following local students will attend Clarkson University in Potsdam, N.Y., as members of the Class of 2018:

Ashley Ann Wissmann of Lovell, Maine, a graduate of Fryeburg Academy, will be majoring in mechanical engineering.

Asa X. Frankowski of Madison, a graduate of Kennett High School, will be majoring in university studies.



Please update your Flash Player to view content.

Facebook Fans - Join The Conversation

Conway Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy

Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette