New Hampshire DAR Recognizes Award Winners at Spring Conference


New Hampshire DAR Recognizes Award Winners at Spring Conference

CONCORD — The New Hampshire State Organization Daughters of the American Revolution recognized several award winners at the 116th state conference on April 29-30, including local students Jessica Della Valla and Benjamin Doherty.

State Regent Wendy Stanley Jones of Greenland presided over the two-day conference. Honored guests were National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution Librarian General Patricia Musick Hatfield of Virginia and Maine State Regent Elizabeth Blake Hotchkiss.

Molly Della Valla, home schooled 5th grade student from Jackson, Benjamin Doherty of Jackson Grammar School, Sean Tracy of Lempster Community School and Abigael Rasmussen of Newport Middle High School were presented with the American History Essay Award. Haley Donovan of Timberlane Regional High School was presented as the Christopher Columbus Essay Winner for the State of New Hampshire.

State Scholarship Committee Chairman Marilyn Huston of Keene presented two DAR Scholarships to Jacqueline Cardin of Memorial High School in Manchester, and Jessica Viel of Nute High School in Milton.

Children of Fallen Patriots of NH chair Jay Lucas, announced of the collaboration between his group and New Hampshire DAR to include scholarship information in New Hampshire's scholarship program, which will award full scholarships to qualified New Hampshire students. The program will work through State Scholarship Committee Chair Marilyn Huston.

State Chairman Pamela Lee of West Lebanon presented several awards on behalf of the DAR Service to Veterans Committee. The Outstanding Veteran Volunteer Award was presented to Mike Gagne of the Liberty House, and the Outstanding Youth Volunteer Award was presented to Erik Voloshin of Bedford High School, who also received the Northeast award from Northeast Division chair Phyllis Gagnon. Trish Jackson of Derry was awarded the Outstanding DAR Service for Veterans Award.

On Sunday morning, State Historian Lorie Greenwood of Lebanon presented the Outstanding Teacher of American History Award to Scott Fowler. Fowler is a fifth grade teacher at Swasey Central School in Brentwood. Fowler was recognized for his instruction of the American Revolution through using historical reenactors from the Dearborn Company to bring the Revolution to life for his students.

The Junior American Citizen Award was presented to Benjamin Mann of Newmarket Elementary School, who won both state and Northeast Division awards for his poster.

Matt Mayberry, keynote speaker for Saturday night, was awarded National Society Daughters of the American Revolutions Community Service Award for his work highlighting the concerns and work with veterans related to suicide. Mayberry is a decorated Air Force veteran who has volunteered many years in support of veterans.

Known as the largest women's service organization in the world, DAR has over 180,000 members with approximately 3,000 chapters in all 50 states and 13 foreign countries. The DAR has long promoted patriotism through commemorative celebrations, memorials, scholarships and activities for children, and programs for new immigrants. For more information visit or


Kennett High School quarter three honor roll

High honors
Seniors (Class of 2017)
Nina Badger, Allyssa Barrows, Jonathan Caputo, Olivia Couture, Elizabeth Davis, India Drummond, Sophie Dubois, James Hounsell, Emma Hurteau, Rebecca Lees, Dennis Morgan, Riley Parkhurst, Darren Piotrow, Emma Sanphy, Cole Schoonover, William Synnott and Emily Wentworth-McGonagle

K.A. Brett School second trimester honor roll

Kenneth A. Brett School in Tamworth has announced the honor roll for the second trimester for the 2016-2017 school year.

Highest honor
Katelyn Colvard; Bryn Fayle; Wesley Loughran; Jamie Owen; Virginia Priestman; Madeleine Quinn; Jack Robinson; Julia Silvia; Lagan Tatarczuk ; Emily Walker; Emily Wansor; Cole Westover; Charly Williams; and Taylor Williams.

High honors
Lilliana Bergen; Summer Billings; Caleb Bradford; Tyson Caisse; Hailey Castaldo; Justin Currier; Brandon Izaijs; Amiah Johnson; Elijah Littlefield; Mackenzie Martin; Matthew Nordwick; Skyler Sayers; Ameer Senor; Melanie; Sok; Acre Tatarczuk; Thomas Troon; and Aquamarine Villarreal.

Madison Bissonnette; Azrael Bolt; Connor Bunker; McKayla Cook; Julia Eldridge; Atticus Fayle; Jaime Fulton; Sally Ghobashi; Kyle Gilbert; Asa Grace; Amber Lynn; Carter Osgood; Matigan Petell; Raymond Rowland; and Emily Spack.

Students earn dean's list honors

WATERVILLE, Maine — Andrew Lavoie of Chocorua was named to the dean's list at Thomas College for the fall 2016 semester.
Lavoie is a freshman computer science student.
Thomas College, founded in 1894, is a private, liberal arts and business college in Waterville, Maine.
• • •
WORCESTER, Mass. — Margaret LaRoche of Silver Lake was named to the dean's list at Worcester Polytechnic Institute.
LaRoche is a member of the Class of 2018 and is majoring in chemical engineering.
Founded in 1865, Worcester Polytechnic Institute is located in Worcester, Mass., and is one of the nation's first engineering and technology universities.
• • •
SYRACUSE, N.Y. — Benjamin Nordwick of Tamworth was named to the dean's list for the fall semester at Syracuse University's Whitman School of Management. He has also been named to the dean's list for Syracuse's S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications.
Both schools require a grade-point-average of 3.6 or higher.
• • •
ROCHESTER, N.Y. —  Carter Miller of Bartlett made the dean's list at Rochester Institute of Technology for fall semester 2016-2017.
Miller is studying in the mechanical engineering program.
Rochester Institute of Technology, founded in 1829, enrolls about 19,000 students in more than 200 programs.
• • •
NEWTON, Mass. — Two Western Maine students made the dean's list for the fall semester at Lasell College.
Receiving dean's list honors were Lasell Samantha Sgroi of Lovell, and Sean Chase of Fryeburg.